From Linguifex
Revision as of 22:03, 25 August 2017 by Lili21 (talk | contribs) (Created page with "'''Calémere''' ([kaˈreːmere] in Cerian, [kaˈleːmere] in Íscégon; ''Kalêmer'' [kaˈlemɛr] in Nordulik; ''Kalémeri'' [kaˈlɛmeri] in modern Nivarese;...")
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to: navigation, search

Calémere ([kaˈreːmere] in Cerian, [kaˈleːmere] in Íscégon; Kalêmer [kaˈlemɛr] in Nordulik; Kalémeri [kaˈlɛmeri] in modern Nivarese; Liloejāṃrya [ɴ̆ʲiɴ̆ɔə̯ˈɟ͡ʑãːʀja] in Chlouvānem is an earthlike planet orbiting the star known with names such as Rénon (Cerian) or Hånna (Chlouvānem).

Star system

Planetary data


Human population: about 8,200,000,000
(Chlouvānem people are about 17,8%)


Calémere has, depending on definition, five to seven continental masses, which do not coincide with the culturally defined continents (from a Western Calemerian (Evandorian) prospective; other languages as e.g. Chlouvānem do not express the concept of "continent", even though they have adopted names for the same lands as the Evandorians). Most Calemerians, thus, recognize seven or nine different continents[1]:

  • Evandor (Cer. Evandó [ɛvanˈdoː]) is the cradle continent of Western Calemerian civilizations. From a geographical point of view, it is only a part of a greater landmass together with Márusúturon [maːruˈsuːturon] and Védren (Cer. Véduren [ˈveːdurɛn]; Chl. Holmenas). While Védren has a single pretty large connection with the other parts and the border is only undecided in where in this large area should be put, for Evandor and Márusúturon there is no real divide, as even Evandorian countries have their own definition. A large part lying between the two major mediterranean seas of the Evandor-Márusúturon-Védren landmass is considered completely as part of Evandor by a few Evandorian nations such as Nivaren, Kalo, or Gathuráni, while for others, such as Ceria or Nordúlik, the geographical border of the Síluren Mountains, which splits the area roughly in half, is the eastern limit of Evandor; with this definition, Evandor is the smallest of the seven continents. The Chlouvānem Inquisition, which occupies (according to the broader definition of Evandor) most of Márusúturon, recognizes Evandor and Márusúturon as a single continent called Mārṣūtram (an adaptation of the Cerian name), even if this is mostly limited to scientific circles, with different, cultural-based definitions, which are popularly used in different areas.
  • Púríton [puːˈriːton] (Chl. Destėna) is the largest continent (if Evandor, Márusúturon, and Védren are counted separately) and lies in the western hemisphere, mostly in the northern hemisphere but stretching up to about 18ºS; it and Márusúturon are the only continents which have all major biomes and climates (though Púríton has only marginal areas of tundra and, unlike Márusúturon, has no polar ice cap).
  • Ceránento [kɛˈraːnento] (Chl.: Bėpata) is a continent in the western hemisphere, the third-smallest of the seven commonly accepted continents, completely in the southern hemisphere and mostly temperate.
  • Fárásen [faːˈraːsen] (Chl.: Kūdrivas) is almost a twin continent of Ceránento, about 20º east of it and some 10 degrees of latitude south of southwestern Védren. It stretches more to the south and is larger than Ceránento; in fact it is the fourth-largest continent (after Púríton and all definitions of Védren and Márusúturon) and the southernmost continental landmass, reaching about 74ºS.
  • Ogúviutón [oguːvjuˈtoːn] (Chl.: Hagvītas) is another continent completely in the southern hemisphere, with a distinctive elongated shape extending mostly longitudinally. Its climate is roughly divided by a mountain chain running all its width in a temperate north side and a more subpolar taiga on the south side. Some islands south of its main continental landmass are the southernmost continent-bound islands on Calémere, nearing 78ºS.

There are, furthermore, two "special" continents:

Quéaten [ˈkweːatɛn] (Chl.: naleiyutei lanāye "Eastern Islands") lies mostly in the northern hemisphere, between Púríton and Márusúturon, but it is not a single continental landmass, being a large island with lots of smaller ones around it.

Gurdugal (Cer. Gúrodogáro [guːrodoˈgaːro]; Chl. Gudarghāla) lies mostly on the same continental plate as Evandor/Márusúturon, from which it is divided by skerry-filled straits, but it is usually considered a different continent first of all for its sheer size - even if more than half of it is tundra or, most commonly, ice cap - and also because it is the only "continent" which is not populated by humans (apart from really small settlements on some coasts) but by orcs.

Humans and other sentient species

Calemerian societies are not only human, even if they're by far the largest and most advanced civilization: there are some other sentient species that live in certain areas of the planet and often do not really like contact with humans. These include:

  • Orcs, living mostly in subpolar areas - all of Gurdugal and northern Púríton in the northern hemisphere, and a good part of central-southern Fárásen and the southern reaches of Ogúviutón in the southern; orcs of the two hemispheres are still of a single species, but there are three radically different races. They're the largest non-human civilization.
  • Lizardmen, living in wetlands and swamps by some coastlines; like orcs, there is a southern hemisphere race, living mostly in eastern Ogúviutón, and a northern hemisphere one on the islands between Márusúturon and Quéaten (even if, geographically, some of these are actually south of the Equator).
  • Harpies, dwelling on the semiarid islands off the southwestern coast of Védren and on those in the ocean between Védren, Ceránento, and Fárásen. They are the most hostile to humans.


World politics


  1. ^ Conventional names are Íscégon, and the Cerian is given if they differ. Chlouvānem names are usually different as both cultures gave those lands the name of some of the first inhabitants they found, but they discovered different parts of the continents first (except for Ogúviutón)